Immaculate heart of mary

Immaculate heart of mary


Church of ImmaculateHeart of Mary,
Tuticorin Dt
Pin : 628 704.
Ph.No : 04639-266587
– 266734

Brief History:

The growth of Satankulam Mission had been depending on two other Missions. One is the north western part of Satankulam Mission centering around Somanathaperi Mission and Peikulam Mission. Those who lived here were old converts. The other is the south eastern part of the Mission with new Catholics, that centered around Satankulam itself. The pioneer of Satankulam Mission is said to be Fr. Deinetius Kuchan, who came to Satankulam in 1861. The quarrel between the Business Chetis and Nadars became an opportunity for the Nadar conversion. In 1863 Satankulam had 7600 Catholics. Sokkankudiyiruppu and Pragasapuram Pudur were bifurcated from Satankulam in 1882 and 1887 successively. Hence, thereafter 3584 Catholics, 11 churches, 7 chapels, about 80 substations and 12 catechists were the only ones left with Satankulam. In 1909 when Pragasapuam Pudur was made into an independent parish, some more substations of Satankulam were joined to the former parish. People of the then substations of Satankulam were converted by priests such as Frs. Castanier, Louis Verdier, Gregory, and Kushan.

Parish Priests:

(After 1923)
Very Rev. Joseph Leon

Patroness : Immaculate Heart of Our Lady


Pudukkulam (Chidambarapuram)
Church constructed in: 1931
St. James Church

Pudukkulam (West)
Church constructed in: 1967
St. Joseph Church

Church constructed in: 23
St. Theresa of Child Jesus Church

Church constructed in: 1959
St. Joseph Church

Church constructed in: 1970
St. Thomas Church

Church constructed in: 1880
St. Xavier Church

Amuthunnakudi (North)
Church constructed in: 1920
St. Antony Church

Church constructed in: 1963
Our Lady of Lourdes Church

Church constructed in: 1930
St. Antony Church

Church constructed in: 1932
St. Xavier Church

Church constructed in: 1880
St. Anne Church

Church constructed in: 1890
St.Mary Church

Church constructed in: 1933
Our Lady of Lourdes Church

Church constructed in: 1920
St. Mary Church

Church constructed in: 1930
St. Anne Church

Irudayapuram (East Veppankadu)
Church constructed in: 1958
Immaculate Heart of Our Lady Church