St. Antony’s Church
Tuticorin Dt
Pin : 628 216.
Ph.No : 04639-256514.

Brief History:

It used to be a Yatch port, and eventually ceased to be. After the extinction of yatch industry, people from other villages came only for seasonal lobster catch. In 1960 2 families from Koothenguzhi began to dwell in here permanently. In course of time people from villages such as Keezhavaipar, Vembar, Thoothukudi, Theresepuram, Fatimanager, Lion’s Town, Idindakarai and Kootapulli built houses and began to live here. Mr. Dasan Fernando took efforts to build up a society out of them. In 1981 the “Parava Society” recognized it as one of its members. In 1984 “Fisheries Society” was started by the Government. In 1986 when Fr. Karunakaran Gomez was the parish priest of Udangudi, it became a substation of Udangudi. A small thatched church was built and masses celebrated. When Fr. Jegathees was parish priest of Udangudi in 1992, people themselves built a small church. It was blessed by Very Rev. Xavier S. Marian, the Vicar Forane of Manapad. Fr. Antony samy, the director of the T.M.S.S.S. started the ‘Fisheries Society”. But due to misadministration, it was handed over to one Manapad Ramesh and deteriorated. In 1997 when Fr. Irudayaraja was parish priest of Udangudi, the church was extended and belltower built. Bishop Amalnather blessed the buildings. On the 1st of June 2002 Bishop Peter Fernando hoisted the flag and declared it to be a new parish with Fr. M.G. Victor as its first parish priest. Rectory was built in 2003. In all these things, people of Manapad have been opposing each and every move of Paduvainager. Amidst their opposition, this parish is improving. Fish, lobster and pearl diving are the main occupation of these people. People from St. Xavier’s and Mangalapuram refused to join this parish at its inception. Though they ultimately became part of this parish due to the efforts of the parish priest and privileges from the diocese, they are still remain an individual unit.

Parish Priests:

Fr. Victor M.G. 2002-2006
Fr. Alexandar 2006

Patron Saint : St. Antony


Church constructed in: 1989
St. Xavier Church

St. Anne Church

Church constructed in: 1978
Our Lady of Veilankanni Church